#### AGATA Collaboration Council Draft Minutes, EGAN meeting GSI 26th June 2014

In attendance: John Simpson (Daresbury, Chairperson), Andy Boston (Liverpool, Secretary), Emmanuel Clément (GANIL Caen), Dominique Curien (Strasbourg), Andres, Gadea (AMB), Juergen Gerl (GSI/TU Darmstadt), Rauno Julin (Jyvaskyla), Silvia Lenzi (Padova), Joa Ljungvall (CSNSM Orsay), Johan Nyberg (Uppsala), Olivier Stezowski (Lyon), Nara Singh (York), Daniel Napoli (LNL), Peter Reiter (IKP), Piotr Bednarczyk (Krakow), Silvia Leoni (Milan)

Apologies: Helen Boston (Liverpool), Adam Mai (Piotr Bednarczyk), Adriana Nannini (Silvia Lenzi), Jérome Rupert, Bénédicte Million (Angela Bracco)

## Minutes of previous meeting

The minutes from the last meeting were agreed.

#### **Outstanding Actions**

<u>Ongoing action on ALL</u>: Keep the information on the ACC web page up to date. Supply information on such things as technical publications, student PhD thesis and AGATA presentations to JS.

<u>Ongoing action on ALL</u>: Content in the form of overview presentations has been made available on the web pages, please add your talks where appropriate. The aim is to provide generic talks for those who need slides for AGATA presentations.

## **Membership of the ACC**

Welcome to new members: Jérome Robert (LPSC –IN2P3 Grenoble), Joa Ljungvall (CSNSM–IN2P3 Orsay), Helen Boston will replace Andrew Boston (Liverpool).

## Data policy

A reminder of the AGATA data policy was made.

The ACC chair circulates the data policy to the spokesperson of each experiment. This outlines the expectation of the AGATA community for those using AGATA resources. The AGATA data policy can be found here: <a href="http://npg.dl.ac.uk/agata\_acc/AGATA\_Data%20Policy.html">http://npg.dl.ac.uk/agata\_acc/AGATA\_Data%20Policy.html</a>

Spokesperson of AGATA delegates ownership and access to primary contact. Done for Legnaro so far period of two years, needs updating <u>done</u>. All extended to end 2015. GSI to do. <u>ACTION ACC chair</u>

## Publication procedure

AGATA technical publications go through the AMB for light touch approval. To date there have been 66 technical publications.

*For Physics publications,* the web system was created and is maintained by Johan Nyberg

#### https://www.agata.org/physics\_publications/

Submit paper to Johan Nyberg (copy John Simpson). A deadline is set for core authors to reply (2 weeks). A list of core authors is available after deadline. System works, not totally automatic yet

GSI core author list being defined, co-ordinated through ASC members. Request has been sent but response is not complete. **<u>ACTION ACC chair</u>** 

To date, 11 scientific

Recent publications:

- Philipp John et al., Shape evolution in the neutron-rich Osmium isotopes: prompt  $\gamma$ -ray spectroscopy of <sup>196</sup>Os Submitted to PLB
- F.C.L. Crespi et al., Isospin character of low-lying pygmy states in <sup>208</sup>Pb via inelastic scattering of <sup>17</sup>O ions, PRL in press
- Track it to the limit, Philip Walker, NATURE PHYSICS Vol. 10 May 2014

## AGATA Web pages

All reminded to send information (news, publications, talks, theses etc. etc. ) to J. Simpson.

# **Report from ASC**

Report from GD on resources. Beam time allocation at GSI. Next MoU to be discussed at the next ASC in Caen, 6/7<sup>th</sup> October 2014. New core author list for GSI (and update of the LNL list) Discussion and decision of AGATA location 2017 and beyond to take place.

# Report from AMB

Andres Gadea reported on the technical status of the AGATA project, find via: <u>http://npg.dl.ac.uk/agata\_acc/ACC\_Minutes.html</u>

# ACC Chair

A vote took place for the next ACC chair, 37 out of the 41 members of the ACC voted.

The winner was Johan Nyberg who will take over from John Simpson on 1/7/14.

# AGATA 2017...

There was an open Call for Laboratory Expressions of Interest for the next campaigns from GANIL, LNL-INFN, ISOLDE and RIKEN by Marek Lewitowicz, Angela Bracco, Peter Reiter and Peter Doornenbal, respectively. Following each presentation there was a question and answer session, and a general open discussion. **ACTION ACC** chair to feedback views to the ASC at its next meeting. **ACTION all** to send any additional comments to J. Nyberg and J. Simpson.

## The open meeting and EGAN workshop

Comments were invited on the EGAN workshop format. There was a mostly positive response.

Discussion of when the next meeting will be given as EGAN (ENSAR) funding finishes this year.

Would definitely want to see this continue.

Money to support young people needed so they can come and present their results.

This time the sessions were squeezed due to having the new lab sessions. Previous sessions were discussed.

Next ACC summer 2015.

**ACTION** ACC Chair.

#### AOB

J. Nyberg took over the chair, notes from Johan: Conference proceedings are not part of the core author list.

All views on the next location of AGATA are requested. Send to ACC chair or liaise with your representative on the ASC.

Some issues:

- Non-contributing sites, it would be difficult to see how we can deploy AGATA at other facilities, due to limited local support.
- Science driven research so should not rule out other facilities.
- Perhaps consider external facilities joining the collaboration.
- Need to come up with local engineers.
- Difference between a device under construction and a completed device.

We continued with the ACC meeting until about 16:50.

Angela wanted to come back to data policy and the deadline set to 31 Dec 2015. She thought that the time allowed for each experiment should be x years after the experiment was performed, not the same time for all experiments as it is now. She said that this is unfair for the experiments that were run later in the period. The other ACC members present at the meeting agreed.

**ACTION** ACC chair.